How many questions is the NH boating license test?
A. The boater’s exam consists of 36 multiple-choice questions.
How do I get my boating license in NH?
Official New Hampshire Boating Safety Course
- Study and pass the $32.00 course, and pay a $17.95 state fee.
- Print your Proctored Exam Voucher.
- Complete your Proctored Exam.
What is the NH proctored exam?
The New Hampshire Proctored Exam is available to students who have finished the online portion of the boating education course and have a Boat New Hampshire Course Completion Slip. Students must pass the proctored exam to complete the online course and receive a boating education certificate.
Where is a NH boating license valid?
NH Boating Safety Education Law Since 2008, everyone operating a boat with greater than 25 horsepower must have a valid safe boating education certificate with them while operating in New Hampshire waters. NH waters include all of Great Bay, large portions of the Piscataqua River and Gosport Harbor.
How long does it take to get boat license in NH?
Boating Education Course Online When you have passed the exam, you will be issued a boating certificate card. The boating education course is administered by the New Hampshire Department of Safety. The course is approximately eight hours long. The passing grade requirement is 80 percent.
Does NH boating license expire?
Once you have successfully completed the exam, your license will be issued to you by a Marine Patrol Officer. The license is valid for five years from the date it is processed.
What side of the buoys do you go on?
The expression “red right returning” has long been used by seafarers as a reminder that the red buoys are kept to the starboard (right) side when proceeding from the open sea into port (upstream). Likewise, green buoys are kept to the port (left) side (see chart below).
Does NH require a boaters license?
New Hampshire has a mandatory boating education law. Everyone 16 years of age and older who operates a motorboat over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire waters must have a boating education certificate.
How long are NH boating license valid for?
The boat license certification is permanent – you do not have renew your licensing once it has been given. What should you do if your boating card is lost or stolen? How much does it cost to replace a boating card? The cost to replace your card is a $10 replacement fee.
Do you need boat insurance in NH?
You are not required to buy boat insurance in New Hampshire but you do need to register your vessel with the state. Not doing so could result in a large fine. To learn more, visit the Division of Motor Vehicles website.
What does a red buoy mean in a lake?
All-green (also known as Cans) and all-red (also known as Nuns) companion buoys indicate the boating channel is between them. The red buoy is on the right side of the channel when facing upstream.
Can anyone drive a boat in NH?
Everyone 16 years of age and older who operates a motorboat over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire waters must have a boating education certificate. New Hampshire accepts the following boating education certificates: A boating certificate issued by another State agency and NASBLA approved.
What is required on a boat in NH?
Powerboats less than 26 feet in length must have at least a B1 extinguisher. Powerboats 26 to less than 40 feet in length must have at least a size B-2 extinguisher or two B-1 extinguishers. Powerboats 40 feet or greater in length must have a B-2 extinguisher and a B-1 extinguisher or three B-1 fire extinguishers.
How to obtain a boating license in New Hampshire?
Current boat registration.
Do you need a license to operate a boat in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire requires a Boater Education Card for boaters, and not a boating license. Though boating activities are governed by the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department, the regulatory authority for the card is New Hampshire Department of Safety. The Boater Education Card is available to operators who are at least 16 years old.
Which boats require a licence?
Which Boats Require a Licence? You must have a Canadian pleasure craft licence to operate a pleasure craft powered by an engine of 10 horsepower (7.5 kW) or more in Canada legally. This includes personal watercraft and sailboats with an engine. You are exempt from this requirement if your pleasure craft is registered.
How to get your boaters license online?
Review enrolling courses in your area offered by the Alabama Department of Public Safety Driver’s License Division.