What are Annex 2 states?

What are Annex 2 states?

Key Point: “Annex 2” States are the states that must ratify the Treaty and deposit their instruments of ratification with the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) to enter into force.

How many Annex 2 states should ratify the CTBT for it to enter into force?

To enter into force, the CTBT must be signed and ratified by the 44 States listed in Annex 2 of the Treaty. These States formally participated in the work of the 1996 session of the Conference on Disarmament and possessed nuclear power or research reactors at that time.

How many countries are mentioned in the Annex 2 of CTBT?

Annex 2 lists the following 44 States, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Israel.

Which states have not ratified CTBT?

Eight Annex 2 states have not ratified the treaty: China, Egypt, Iran, Israel and the United States have already signed the Treaty, whereas India, North Korea and Pakistan have not signed it.

Who signed CTBT from Nepal?

Krishna Bahadur Mahara
Kathmandu, September 20 Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs Krishna Bahadur Mahara signed the treaty on behalf of the Government of Nepal during the 72nd United Nations General Assembly in New York this morning.

How many countries have signed the CTBT agreement?

The CTBT was adopted in 1996 and has been signed by 185 countries, and ratified by 170 of them, including three nuclear weapons-holding States: France, Russia and the United Kingdom.

How many countries signed in CTBT?

What is the current status of the CTBT?

To date, 184 states have signed and 168 have ratified the treaty. Of the 44 specified countries, India, Pakistan, and North Korea still have not signed, and only 36 have ratified the treaty. For more information on the CTBT, see Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty at a Glance.

What are Annex A and Annex B countries?

Annex I refers to the countries identified for reduction in the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) while the Annex B is an adjusted list of the countries identified under the more recent Kyoto Protocol. Annex B countries have their reduction targets formally stated.

Is India a part of CTBT?

The 1996 Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) has yet to enter into force because of the unwillingness of a number of states—including India—to ratify it. Although India initially participated in negotiating the CTBT, it subsequently walked out of the negotiations and has never signed the treaty.

When did Pakistan join CTBT?

The CTBT will formally enter into force after 44 designated “nuclear-capable states” (as listed in Annex 2 of the treaty) have deposited their instruments of ratification with the UN secretary-general….Fact Sheets & Briefs.

Country Signature Ratification
North Korea*
Norway* 9/24/96 7/15/99
Oman 9/23/99 6/13/03

Has India signed the CTBT?

What is Annex B countries?

Definition: Annex I and Annex B Countries/Parties are the signatory nations to the Kyoto Protocol that are subject to caps on their emissions of GHGs and committed to reduction targets–countries with developed economies.

Why did India not join CTBT?

“India had participated in the negotiations of the draft CTBT in the Conference on Disarmament. But, India could not join the Treaty as the Treaty did not address a number of core concerns raised by India,” the Foreign Secretary said at the UN Security Council meeting.

Is India a member of CTBT?

What is a Annex 1 country?

Annex I countries are developed countries and countries undergoing the process of transition to market economy. All Annex I countries have specific limitation targets for greenhouse gas emissions.