What horse won the Melbourne Cup 2014?

What horse won the Melbourne Cup 2014?

The 2014 Emirates Melbourne Cup was the 154th running of the Melbourne Cup, Australia’s most prestigious Thoroughbred horse race….2014 Melbourne Cup.

Melbourne Cup
Location Flemington Racecourse Melbourne, Australia
Winning horse Protectionist
Starting price $8
Jockey Ryan Moore

What horses are racing in the Melbourne Cup?

Thoroughbred horse race
The Melbourne Cup is Australia’s most famous annual Thoroughbred horse race. It is a 3200-metre race for three-year-olds and over, conducted by the Victoria Racing Club on the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Which horse has run the most Melbourne Cups?

Melbourne Cup Winner Stats – Sex

  • Makybe Diva is the most famous mare to win the Melbourne Cup (2003, 2004, 2005)
  • Just 14 mares in total and 12 individual mares have won the Melbourne Cup with Verry Elleegant (2021) the most recent.
  • Stallions (Entires) hold the record.
  • Just three fillies have won the Melbourne Cup.

What horse that put down in 2020 Melbourne Cup?

Anthony Van Dyck euthanised after breaking down during Melbourne Cup.

Which horses won Melbourne Cup 2021?

Melbourne Cup Results 2021 Verry Elleegant has won the 2021 $7.75m Melbourne Cup, upsetting short-priced favourite Incentivise. Incentivise, who was staring down history as one of the shortest-priced favourites in the race’s history, finished second. Spanish Mission was third and Floating Artist was fourth.

How many horses died in 2021 Melbourne Cup?

The reason why not ONE horse broke down and tragically died at Melbourne Cup 2021 – after six deaths in recent years threatened to ruin the race. After six horses died in the Melbourne Cup since 2013, racing authorities finally had to question what was going wrong and to do something about it.

What horse got put down?

Racegoers excited as crowds return to Grand National Grand National runner Discorama has died, having been put to sleep due to an ‘untreatable’ injury the horse sustained during the iconic Aintree race on Saturday evening.

Which horses are in the Melbourne Cup 2021?

2021 Melbourne Cup Final Field: Melbourne Cup Horses

  • Twilight Payment. T: Joseph O’brien. J: Jye Mcneil.
  • Incentivise. T: P G Moody.
  • Spanish Mission. T: Andrew Balding.
  • Verry Elleegant. T: C J Waller.
  • Explosive Jack. T: C Maher & D Eustace.
  • The Chosen One. T: M Baker & A Forsman.
  • Delphi. T: A & S Freedman.
  • Ocean Billy. T: C J Waller.