What is Rigveda of Creation all about?

What is Rigveda of Creation all about?

The nature of Hindu cosmology is demonstrated in the Rig Veda . The Rig Veda is a source of wisdom and authority that helps Hindus to understand the nature of creation . It is known to some Hindus as the Hymn of Creation.

What is the meaning of Sukta in Rigveda?

we find suktas in he rigveda, meaning’well said’. they were praisings of gods and godeses, cattle and children, especially sons. they were in the form of hymns, 1028 of them. Aruna kumari Sripada. In Rigveda hymns are called as Sukta which means well said.

Who wrote Suktam?

This Sukta consists of many verses but the first 16 to 19 verses are the only ones that have been authenticated. The seer of this Sukta is said to be the children of Laxmi by the names Ananda, Chikleeta, Kardama, Shreeda, and Indira. This is as per the Anukramani of Khila portion of Rig Veda Samhita.

What is the title Nasadiya Sukta means in English?

The Nāsadīya Sūkta (after the incipit ná ásat, or “not the non-existent”), also known as the Hymn of Creation, is the 129th hymn of the 10th mandala of the Rigveda (10:129). It is concerned with cosmology and the origin of the universe.

How Nasadiya Sukta explain the origin of universe?

It is concerned with cosmology and the origin of the universe. Nasadiya Sukta begins with the statement: “Then, there was neither existence, nor non-existence.” It ponders when, why, and through whom the universe came into being in a contemplative tone, and provides no definite answers.

Who really knows and who can swear?

How creation came, when or where!

How many Suktas were composed in total in Rigveda?

The Rigveda Samhita is the core text, and is a collection of 10 books (maṇḍalas) with 1,028 hymns (sūktas) in about 10,600 verses (called ṛc, eponymous of the name Rigveda).

What is Suktas?

A Suktam is a hymn in praise of the deity intended. The Sukta is a hymn and is composed of a set of Riks. ‘Rik’ means – an incantation that contains praises and Veda means knowledge. The knowledge of the Suktas itself is the literal meaning of Rigveda.

What are the different Suktams?


  • Vishnu stuti.
  • Vayu stuti.
  • Lakshmi stuti.
  • Krishna stuti.
  • Dashavatara stuti.
  • Shiva stuti.
  • Nakha stuti.
  • Durga stuti.