What is the meaning of the 14 Stations of the Cross?

What is the meaning of the 14 Stations of the Cross?

Stations of the Cross, also called Way of the Cross, a series of 14 pictures or carvings portraying events in the Passion of Christ, from his condemnation by Pontius Pilate to his entombment.

What does each station of the Cross mean?

1st Station: Jesus is condemned to death. 2nd Station: Jesus takes up his Cross. 3rd Station: Jesus falls for the first time. 4th Station: Jesus meets his Mother. 5th Station: Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the Cross.

What are the biblical Stations of the Cross?

Scriptural Stations of the Cross: A Devotional Reflection on the Science of Jesus’ Crucifixion

  • Station 1: Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane.
  • Station 2: Jesus, Betrayed by Judas, Is Arrested.
  • Station 3: Jesus Is Condemned by the Sanhedrin.
  • Station 4: Jesus Is Denied by Peter.
  • Station 5: Jesus Is Judged by Pilate.

What does the 13th Station of the Cross mean?

The Thirteenth Station in the Via Dolorosa is where Jesus is taken down from the cross. Between the previous Stations of the Cross is a statue of the Virgin Mary, Our Lady of Sorrows, and above this is an arch that says “Stabat Mater” (“the mother stood”).

Why do we pray the Stations of the Cross during Lent?

For many, visiting and praying at the stations is seen as an “act of reparation” for the suffering of Jesus during the Passion. Such acts were referred to by Pope John Paul II as part of “an unceasing effort to stand beside the endless crosses on which the son of God continues to be crucified.”

How many Stations of the Cross are there 15?

Traditionally there were fourteen stations. During his papacy, which began in 1978, Pope John Paul II encouraged Catholics to add a fifteenth Station, the Resurrection of Christ, which is now included in many Catholic churches.

Why is there a 15th Station of the Cross?

What is the twelfth station of the cross?

In the New Testament the place where Jesus was crucified is called Golgotha (from the Aramaic word for “skull”).

What is the 15th Station?