How much is an emissions test in Massachusetts?
The State of Massachusetts charges a $35 fee for state vehicle emissions tests. Vehicle owners must pay the fee at the time of their scheduled test. The first retest a vehicle does after failing its original smog check is free if the vehicle gets tested at the same emissions testing station.
Will a car pass inspection with check engine light on in Massachusetts?
A car cannot pass a Massachusetts inspection (if it is less than fifteen years old) if the readiness monitors are not set or if the Check Engine Light is on. In many cars, the monitors can take as many as 100+ miles to reset. In addition, it may take several drive cycles for the monitors to clear.
What year vehicle is exempt from emissions in MA?
Massachusetts’ law allows state officials responsible for the emissions program to exempt vehicles that are 15 years old before the year in which their inspection occurs. State implementing regulations provide an exemption for vehicles that are 1983 models or older.
How do I get an emissions waiver in Massachusetts?
To apply for an emissions waiver, please contact our Customer Service Center at 1-844-358-0135 to schedule an appointment at a Motorist Assistance Center (MAC) near you. Bring all required documents: work orders and receipts from a Registered Emissions Repair Facility to your MAC appointment.
How often do you need an emissions test in MA?
All vehicles driven on Massachusetts roads must pass an annual safety inspection. Vehicles with onboard diagnostic systems manufactured after model year 2008 must pass an annual emissions test. Inspections are offered at more than 1,800 licensed inspection stations in Massachusetts.
Will clearing codes pass emissions?
DON’T clear any Data Trouble Codes using a scanner, hoping to pass the emission test. If you erase the Data Trouble Codes and then take the vehicle in for emission testing right away, it will be “Rejected”. Clearing the Data Trouble Codes erases all of the OBD-II system’s memory settings.
How much does it cost to get a sticker for your car in Massachusetts?
The regular one-year passenger vehicle registration fee is $30, and $60 for two-year plates. If you want a special registration plate, it is a $75 fee. All this information can be found on the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website Massachusetts extension. Still have questions about vehicle registration?
What is the grace period for car inspection in Massachusetts?
The requirements are outlined below and include an extension which now allows vehicle owners with expired March 2021 and April 2021 inspections stickers to have through May 31, 2021 to obtain inspections.
How long can you drive with a failed inspection sticker in MA?
After you get safety defects fixed, your Certificate of Rejection allows you to operate your vehicle for up to 60 days, while arranging for re-inspection.
How long is an emissions waiver good for in Massachusetts?
Under Massachusetts law, you have the right to have shoddy work repaired for no charge. The “8/80” emissions warranty covers major emissions control items beyond the manufacturer’s standard vehicle warranty for a total of eight years or 80,000 miles, whichever comes first.
How much is the fine for an expired inspection sticker in Massachusetts?
Driving a vehicle with an expired inspection sticker in Massachusetts is subject to a fine of $50. An expired inspection sticker violation is also a “surchargeable” event that adds “points” to a driver’s Safe Driver Insurance Plan (SDIP) rating.
What are pending OBD codes?
These codes are referred to as pending or maturing codes. Pending codes are caused by intermittent faults or faults that the PCM needs to see happen in two consecutive warm-up cycles to set the code. If the fault does not reappear within 40 warm-up cycles, the code will be cleared from memory.
What is OBD testing?
What is OBD Testing and why is it being introduced? An On-Board Diagnostics System (OBD) is a computer system inside a vehicle, which tracks and regulates a car’s performance. It collects information from sensors inside the vehicle, to alert the user to a problem, often before it becomes a major issue.
Can you pay for a Massachusetts car inspection with a credit card?
Bring your vehicle registration and the $35 inspection fee with you. Payment methods accepted are cash, check and credit card.
Can you pay for MA State inspection with credit card?
Inspection Fee Information Please check with your inspection station for the forms of payment (cash, check, debit or credit card) that they accept.